Vitamin D

This is another very important vitamin that everyone should be mindful of. Sunshine is a great natural form of Vitamin D, and even fair-skinned people should try to get a few minutes of sunshine a day on bare skin.  There is no need to risk skin cancer—just a few minutes of mild sun on your arms or hands is a helpful way to obtain a natural  source of Vitamin D.  If you are very fair-skinned then you can do so when the sun is mild, such as in the mornings and late afternoons. Vitamin D deficiency is becoming a worldwide concern, therefore you may also choose to consume a dietary supplement, especially if you are someone who is suffering from low Vitamin D levels.  The vegan source of dietary Vitamin D is D2 (ergocalciferol), usually synthetic or manufactured from yeast.  It can be obtained in a tablet form, or found in supplemented foods such as some soy milks.   Most Vitamin D3 is NOT vegan. However you can find some vegan Vitamin D3 these days, just google it.  If you are curious about your own Vitamin D level, you can schedule a 25(OH)D (25-hydroxyvitamin D) blood test.

3 Replies to “Vitamin D”

  1. There’s one Vegan D3 I’m aware of. Our friend Prof. Gary L. Francione spoke to a chemist who makes it. He investigated the production process in Feb 2010. He was satisfied there are no animal products contained in the product or in the production process. It’s called “Source of Life Garden™ Vitamin D3” Caps.

    The site that advertises it states “with Organic Gold Standard Nutrients is the first supplement to provide 5000 IU of 100% plant-source cholecalciferol, from a variety of organic, healthful mushrooms.

    Source of Life Garden Vitamin D3 features:
    5000 IU Vitamin D3 – the first plant-source cholecalciferol, from a blend of eight different organic mushrooms
    500 mg Certified Organic Mushroom Blend – supplying 5000 IU vitamin D3 and many other healthful nutrients
    Organic Whole Food Base – fruits, vegetables, green foods, mushrooms and algae
    Natural Whole Food Enzymes for maximum support.”

    There is an imitation product with a very similar name called “Source of Garden ….. ” which claims it is vegan D3, but it is not because it contains lanolin in the production process.

  2. There’s also Vitashine Vegan Vitamin D3 Spray.
    From their website…
    Vitashine – The only Vegan Vitamin D3 registered with the Vegan Society
    Vitashine contains our exclusive 100% Vegan and vegetarian suitable Vitamin D3 (Cholecalciferol). We worked with Independent expert laboratories including Stirling University (world renowned experts in lipid analysis) to validate our research. Vitashine is registered with the Vegetarian Society and the Vegan Society.

    Vitamin D3: A potent and active form of Vitamin D
    Vitamin D3 (Cholecalciferol) is the form of Vitamin D produced by the body after sun exposure. Common vegetarian Vitamin D supplements are Vitamin D2 (Ergocalciferol), which is a derivative of ergosterol and is not produced by land plants or vertebrates. The healthy debate continues regarding whether D2 offers equivalent efficacy to D3 in the body, with the majority of the Scientific community suggesting Vitamin D3 is superior. We have added some downloads and references to our website to allow you to make up your own minds! Having reviewed a vast amount of published research, our conclusion is that Vitamin D3 (Cholecalciferol) is the best form of Vitamin D for the body.

    Ingredients: Diglycerides of fatty acids (coconut source), Vitamin D3 rich Lichen extract, Natural Vitamin E (Soy-derived).

  3. Also Vitashine – from the U.K. – is another new source of Vegan Vitamin D3 – but the one mentioned above by Trish and Vitashine are the only 2 vegan sources of Vitamin D3 that I know of. Some people believe D3 to be more easily absorbed and better while other sources day D2 is just fine. I prefer getting mine from sunshine exposure, naturally.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *